JENS MALMGREN I create, that is my hobby.

Sonia 4th of December 2016

It is Sunday 4 December and I am on my way to a live painting Session in Amsterdam. Directly in the train I get a close encounter with the younger generation. A girl is playing a video without any ear phones and I cannot stand it. I tell her that this is not acceptable. She reacts really surprised that this could ever be an issue. Not so that she adjusts the volume or anything.

Grumping to myself “Relax Jens. You are in the train and it is on time and you are on the way to a painting session so things are fine.”

Today the roofs in the neighborhood were frosted when I woke up. The sun shines and it is absolutely wind still. Then I discovered that the central heating had not turned on in my house. Normally during night, I have the heating turned off with help of a computer. In the morning the system restarts the heating again automatically. The house had a lot of time to cool down during the night. I got district heating. There is a heater central in the neighborhood and from this central warm water is distributed to the houses via pipes in the ground. In every house there is a warmth exchange unit. I switched batteries on the computer and checked if fuses worked. Then I decided on scraping the contacts between the computer and the wall plate and then the heating in my house started to work again!!!

The noisy girl eventually stopped watching the action movie aloud. Instead she switched to conversation with her friends. She uses a plenty of English terms and I can hear other people comment on her way of speaking. I enjoy those comments.

The model today was Sonia from Italy. She was sitting with her hands in her lap with a mirror behind her. This is the big mirror with a wooden frame and a crack in the corner. I Decided on painting her with plenty of room around her.


I was born 1967 in Stockholm, Sweden. I grew up in the small village Vågdalen in north Sweden. 1989 I moved to Umeå to study Computer Science at University of Umeå. 1995 I moved to the Netherlands where I live in Almere not far from Amsterdam.

Here on this site I let you see my creations.

I create, that is my hobby.